RSS

Australian coffee

21 Feb

No secret that I love my morning coffee. And the afternoon coffee.

For the uninitiated, this is a guide to the Australian way of drinking and preparing coffee: http://www.dailylife.com.au/news-and-views/dl-culture/what-does-your-coffee-order-say-about-you-20140220-333bn.html

For my US friends, this is probably why lots of Aussies have a bit of a problem drinking standard coffee in the US. I guess we’re not used to filter coffee that sits on a heater. I’m still teased about how much milk I needed to put in Starbucks coffee, for example.

At home, I sometimes use a coffee plunger  but I’m more likely to use a cafetiere like one of these, http://www.palmerstores.com/media/img/products/1-41435-la-cafetiere-classic-espresso-6-cup-coffee-maker-all-6516-zoom.jpg bubbling away on the hob.

And then there’s my in-a-hurry-baby-get-me-dat-coffee-now coffee maker. http://coffeesnobs.com.au/Attachments/expressi-box02.jpg
Yup, it’s not the most utterly fabuloso thing ever, but hey, it’s fast, it’s utterly drinkable, even for coffee snobs, and it makes me happy and bearable first thing in the morning.

I rarely drink instant coffee. It has a funny aftertaste.

So what do I order in a cafe? A flat white. Boring name, but I’ll leave the description to Dom Knight from the article above:

A cup of steaming baristartery often topped with a little leaf or love heart which is completely pointless when immediately covered by a plastic takeaway lid. The flat white has begun conquering the UK and US, and I’m fully confident it’ll become the world’s favourite morning coffee – the balance between the flavour of the coffee and comfort factor of the milk is perfect to begin the day. I reckon ordering a flat white says nothing much about you except that you like coffee.

I’ve had my flat white for the morning. I’m good to go. :-)

coffee

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Australian coffee

  1. jan2132

    February 21, 2014 at 10:52 am

    I read that article too. I had a plunger for many years before moving in with son and DIL. There I used a Pavoni, a temperamental Italian ( like many). Very good to plain average depending on how it felt in the morning.

    On moving here, I bought the larger Breville espresso machine. I had used a smaller one and found it good. This larger one makes coffee at least as good as most places around here and I’m in what would be called an ethnic area of coffee lovers. I don’t have a car and no places in walking distance, so this is good. My only regret is that they now have a double boiler which was what I was used to. Apart from that, I’m happy with it.

    When at son’s, he had overnight guests on their way to airport. I came downstairs to glum faces. They could not find the coffee. I made them some which they enjoyed but asked where coffee was stored. I explained we just did not have instant around. Never occurred to us to buy it!

     
    • Meowmie

      February 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

      I found some lumpy instant coffee in the cupboard last week. Tossed it out. Since we don’t have many visitors, it’s easy enough for me to show them where the coffee capsules are and how to use the expressi capsule machine.

      I need a new rubber ring seal for the cafetiere.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

