RSS

Me me me!

03 Mar

Oh yes, it’s all about me. Mimi celebrated her second birthday by letting us in to the secret of her ownership of everything. That is, everything that isn’t yucky (another new word). The most annoying one is “my sheat” (referring to my recliner, not Daddy’s whose recliner remains his).

For some reason, sit and seat both start with “sh”. This worried certain people a bit, but seriously, Mimi has no idea what the first means and the second involves making her bed and she’s not at all interested in that. Making a hullabaloo about it doesn’t achieve anything, except perhaps make her interested in the mispronounced words. Modelling the correct pronunciation in response is a lot easier. I remember using that technique time after time when I was a foreign language teacher. Enough to drive anyone mad when done for hours every day.

Most of the time Mimi doesn’t bother with a noun after “my”. Simply pointing or (even better) grabbing the item while hollering “my” is enough to denote possession.

Apparently “looka dere” now means “say what that thing is”, the newest form of torture while trying to read her a book. DH read a book about a farm yesterday and patiently said the words for every critter, building and piece of vegetation on the page.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2008 in Child Development, Motherhood

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Me me me!

  1. andreapaventi

    March 8, 2008 at 2:06 am

    My daughter used to look at trucks and scream, “Fxxx! Fxxx!” and so I’d ask her to say “Truck You”. Which is very very immature of me. But it made me howl with laughter. Of course I would never ask her to say “Fxxx You” and she breezed past the syllable issues in a few months. But man, what a funny video we have of her.

     
  2. meowmie

    March 8, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Bad Mommy! (Srsly, laughing myself stupid here!!!)

     
  3. Renae

    March 10, 2008 at 11:20 am

    I think Emmie and Mimi’s language development are quite similar. It’s so good when they finally get them right, but man the repetition gets a bit much pretty quickly.

    We’ve spent the last 2 weeks working on sandwich. She can say Sand and Witch, but together it’s a samiedge.

     

Leave a Reply

 
