RSS

All aboard the good ship “Defiant”

02 Apr

Mimi has her own sweet way to let me know that I am not doing what she wants. If I take away something or try to move her somewhere she doesn’t want to go to, she turns to me with a determined look on her face and says the immortal words:

“No! Go away! Rawwrrrrrrrrr!”

Funnily enough, she backs down if I make the alpha female growl in return. Meowmie Tigress, oh yeah.

Apparently other children are doing this at childcare. I dare not ask any child’s parents if their child normally communicates in growls. I only know that Mimi has been growling on and off since she was 6 months old.

Of course, this does mean that she’ll have to be a Richmond Football Club fan. She already has a cute pair of pastel pink tracky daks with “Richmond” across the backside.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2008 in Motherhood

 

2 responses to “All aboard the good ship “Defiant”

  1. Betsy

    April 5, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Hello Meowmie. Thanks for the comment on my most recent BabyCenter post. I wanted to tell you that my husband is half Aussie. HIs mother was born in Perth. He has loads of cousins, and a best friends, down there and I am always bugging him to go visit the long lost family. Maybe someday…
    Take care, and enjoy autumn.

     
  2. meowmie

    April 6, 2008 at 11:56 am

    I’m sure you’d have a fantastic time in Australia. The hard bit would be when to visit? You have such a great time in the snow, but the summer months in your area sound like they’re full of wonderful things to do.

    Of course, I’m no eartly help in timing overseas travel! I’m the one who decided to travel through Greece in a September heatwave with brownouts every evening and just as rampant inflation hit the country. My mother is still peeved with me about that holiday, I think.

     

Leave a Reply

 
