RSS

Ooh, just like YOU!!

16 May

Nobody has ever told me that my daughter looks like me. All I ever hear is “Ooh, doesn’t she look just like your husband!”  It’s the blond hair, I’m sure, even though there are strawberry blonds on my side of the family too with blue eyes and round cheeks. Just for once I’d like someone to see some resemblance, *any* resemblance to me instead of making out that DD’s genetic packaging is completely from DH’s side.  What am I, chopped liver?

Of course, I am exaggerating. A bit. When DD was 9 months old she was asked some obvious question by friends.  Naturally DD rolled her eyes and shrugged her shoulders.  Immediate reaction: “Hon, she looks just like you when she does that!” Great.

Elephant is apparently “feffant”, truck is “cuck”, and I’m often told “hep me!” (help me) and “cawwy!!” (carry). I have been told that DD says please and thank you at preschool. I remain unconvinced: she doesn’t say that at home. I never heard DD say “yes” until 6 weeks ago. She’s really good at “no”. Hey, she knows her own mind.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 16, 2008 in Child Development

 

Leave a Reply

 
