RSS

Get up and help me!

22 May

I love Andrea Frazer’s posts at BabyCenter. (I’ll write about others whose blogs keep me sane, too!)

One post which I read today is Oh my God! Are your kids’ arms broken? Oh boy. That amused me maybe more than it should. You see, I have only one darling daughter, Mimi, who is two. However, I have two kids, it seems. DD and DH.

What on earth is normal about a woman running after a kid *and* a husband, picking up after them? Is it normal? (If you say yes, I’m going to get all medieval on your ass!) I nag DH to put his stuff in the dishwasher, to put his clean clothes away (after I ran the washing machine and put the clothes on the line), to set the table for dinner. He has learnt to be careful how he phrases requests, particularly after I’ve had a hard day at work. Otherwise he’s likely to hear “Oh dear. Are your little legs broken? And your arms, too? Let me get some splints and bandages first.” Sarcastic cow, that would be me.

His mother has apologised to me for not making him do chores round the house when he was a kid. While I was rushing round looking after my baby brothers, cooking, cleaning, and so on, he was putting his feet up and watching television in his house several states away. I think he might be a bit nervous about my mother. 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 22, 2008 in Life Matters, Motherhood

 

4 responses to “Get up and help me!

  1. Kim/hormone-colored days

    May 23, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Thanks for your comment on my post about the laundry mess at MOMformation today. I must add that DH is usually much neater than I am with my papers and general trail of clutter that follows me about. So why can’t he and my boys get their clothes into the hamper? Argh! You are right to start so early teaching your daughter!

     
  2. meowmie

    May 23, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Wow – you got one already trained in other areas? I am seriously impressed!

    Maybe it’s a motivation and reward problem. We need to come up with something that is a reward for getting clothes into the hamper.

     
  3. andrea frazer

    June 11, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Ah, I just saw this. Thank you! Is your blog new? I suppose I should go back and see how long you’ve had it. I wonder if my fingers are broken? No? Just lazy! LOL. Going to check it out now…

     
  4. meowmie

    June 11, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    This is the same one – I just got bored with the old layout and thought I’d try out something new. I like the “clouds” for tags and categories in this style.

     

Leave a Reply

 
