RSS

Books – the new guilt vector

03 Jun

A quick list of books which I feel I should have read but somehow haven’t … Lazy? Unmotivated? Threatened by the denseness of the prose? All of the above? 🙂 I’d say the latter.

1. The Seagull – Chekhov.  I’ve seen this performed and neither the performance nor the performers provoked any desire in me to open my copy of the play.

2. A book on how to drought-proof my garden. The poor garden already looks pathetic and books like this make me alternately angry and sad. I don’t need any more of that.

3. Pamela. Yes, that novel. The one from centuries past where the maid is pestered by the aristocrat and gives up her virginity only after her wedding to the same.

4. Man and Superman – George Bernard Shaw.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2008 in Books

 

2 responses to “Books – the new guilt vector

  1. Lindsay Weiss

    June 6, 2008 at 3:46 am

    Thanks for stopping by my blog on MOMformation today!

    So I have a similar book list, only much, much longer…

    For starters:

    1. Pride and Prejudice
    2. 1984
    3. Memoirs of a Geisha (more recent, but I still haven’t been able to tackle)

    I could go on forever…

     
  2. meowmie

    June 6, 2008 at 9:40 am

    I slogged through Memoirs of a Geisha when flying home from Europe a few years ago. The only thing that kept me reading it was … sheer lack of anything else to read! Not much of an advertisement for the book, I have to say. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
