RSS

Nesting

20 Jun

I honestly thought that nesting was something that pregnant women only did to their own houses or apartments. That final burst of energy, zooming around and making a nursery look “just right”, sorting out cupboards and wardrobes, eyeing off the garage with hungry eyes, and in the background, there is their partner rushing out to the Shed, the one place of refuge where even a hormonally-driven woman should fear to tread.

A couple of weeks ago DD had a young friend visit. Her mother is, I realise with hindsight, sharing her nesting instincts with others. While the two girls played, somehow I was cajoled into clearing up the magazines under the coffee table, and the toy box, and DD’s books … and the list goes on. I was ready to put my feet up afterwards. Seriously, how normal is it to nest in someone else’s house? Does this only happen when the woman’s own house is already fine? Or is the urge triggered when faced with what might be intolerable mess?

Actually, it reminded me of how much easier springcleaning and big clear-up jobs can be when you have another person or two helping you. I should get off my fat butt and suggest to my friend A. that we share cleaning – the two of us work on a room in her house for one afternoon, the next week we can work on a room in my house. I’m not saying we’ve got grubby houses. Rather, it’s the accumulation of little things that turn into big piles when you’re working and looking after kids and trying to have a full life.

Hey, it might just work!

The How Clean is Your House? website has links on it to pages on how to clean glass, windows, and bathrooms. All very helpful. Even more fun is the link to a gallery of disgustingly dirty houses on the website. I know this is the result of a competition ot get a Dyson vacuum cleaner, but honestly, I couldn’t bring myself to let people know if I had a toilet that revolting. 🙂

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2008 in decluttering project

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Nesting

  1. Lindsay Weiss

    June 23, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Wow. That is a very ambitious cleaning list. When you’re done at your house can you hop on over to mine?

    p.s. Thanks for stopping in over at MOMformation!

     
  2. meowmie

    June 24, 2008 at 9:54 am

    LOL! I barely have the energy to get through the stuff at my own house.

     
  3. meowmie

    June 24, 2008 at 9:56 am

    LOL! I barely have the energy to get through the stuff at my own house.

     

Leave a Reply

 
