RSS

Your bras are needed!

07 Jul

To think that I was feeling a bit peeved that the bra I wanted to buy wasn’t on special and I had to pay full price of $54.95 for it! I should be much more grateful for the fact that I can afford to buy a new one.

The project Uplift Fiji seeks to send secondhand bras to Fiji and some other South Pacific nations to help the women there. This is serious stuff. In tropical conditions of heat and humidity, fungal infections and abscesses occur between the breast and the chest wall. Bras will help.

From the website I learnt that Fijian woman may make $1.50 or $2 an hour. A new bra can cost up to $40. That is an enormous amount out of her wage.

If you are in Australia and you have used bras that you can donate, please look at the list under the “Supporters” tag at the side and take the bras to a collection point.

Thank you.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 7, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “Your bras are needed!

  1. andrea frazer

    July 13, 2008 at 4:14 pm

    This is a great thing. Would you like me to post it at BabyCenter with a link back to you? Email me or leave me a comment on a post. BabyCenterAndrea@Yahoo.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
