RSS

Catching up – or not!

06 Aug

I read Andrea Frazer’s blog entry about catching up with a friend from high school and was envious! Not from the catching up, but rather that people have people from those years who they are excited to find again and who are fun to talk to.

I wasn’t invited to my high school reunions – only found out after the event had occurred via one of my friends in the town where I grew up. And indeed, why would the organising committee ask me, other than for completeness? It’s not as if I was hard to find. My parents were still at the same house where I lived when I attended school. They’re in the phone book. There were a couple of people I was still in touch with regularly from the same year group. Once I can understand, twice is getting a bit ‘off’.

So, is the problem mine? I live in a different state now. Am I giving off “don’t touch me” vibes? Or am I appearing too good or too snobby to be with those people? Who knows. I honestly would have found it interesting to see how people went with their careers, began families, travelled, studied, what hobbies they’d found, and so on. I do remember a number of people from my year group and ask after them, in case someone has seen them lately.

I have had a couple of e-mails over the years from the Friends Reunited website and I was delighted to hear from each of those people. They seemed to disappear but I understand how life is busy. In one case, his wife can’t stand me (no, I didn’t do a thing – she is simply paranoid and jealous about any friendly woman).

My gregarious brothers, both more tightly entwined with our home town, have maintained much closer contacts with their friends from high school. Maybe I fled the state too early and never set down the roots that were expected in our small community.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2008 in Life Matters, Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Catching up – or not!

  1. andrea frazer

    August 15, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    It’s because you’re too smart, sexy and married to a hot military man. Jealous bitches.

     
  2. meowmie

    August 19, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Ah, not military but still liable to be posted overseas.

    You’re funny – too smart and sexy, me? Oh goodness, if only!

     

Leave a Reply

 
