RSS

Decluttering – who’s winning?

19 Aug

An article from The Sydney Morning Herald looks at one woman who has started to fight clutter in her home. I can relate to this!

Surveying the mountain of clothes, jumbled toys and over-stuffed bookshelf, I fear the plan is too optimistic. Especially when a barrier of plastic tubs, dining chairs and baskets of cords block the entrance to the garden shed.

In my case, the question is: where shall I start? I started with the easiest room first. Well, physically easiest. DD’s bedroom. On Sunday my dear friend came over and helped me to sort out DD’s old clothes. This was a wrench. All those lovely little clothes, size 000, 00, and 0, all pink and purple and white and ready to be worn by an adorable little girl. But we never had a second child and it’s time for me to be realistic. Doesn’t make it any easier.

The thing that kept me going was having a friend help me. I sorted clothes into four piles:

  • friend’s daughter (one year younger than my DD);
  • charity shop at my church;
  • spare clothing at the childcare centre;
  • too stained to send anywhere.

My friend took the “too stained” pile and said that she would try to blast those stains away. Good luck! If anyone can do it, it’s my friend.

I took the spare clothing to childcare on Monday. There are still 5 supermarket bags of clothes to go to the charity shop.

Needless to say, I haven’t dealt with everything in DD’s room. I figure it’s an ongoing thing. There are little sheets for her bassinette that I will wash and store with the bassinette. There are baby blankets which I cannot let go of. But then again, there is a feeling of lightness in the room already. I’m claiming the room for a preschooler rather than a baby. Not easy at all, but I shall be the better for it when it’s done, and I will celebrate my darling, obnoxious, loud, funny, smiling, bookworm, mountain climber preschooler.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 19, 2008 in decluttering project, Life Matters, Motherhood

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Decluttering – who’s winning?

  1. Diane H K

    August 20, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    I have a good cry whenever I sort through Pixie’s things as she outgrows them. My consolation is that my sister, whose baby girl is due in November, has asked if she may have Pixie’s outgrown clothes. I picked out a beautiful layette and 1.5 year’s worth of baby garments. It felt good that such lovely clothes went to where they are appreciated.

    That said, I do have one small box in which I keep one or two of the most treasured outfits from each stage of her life thus far. The preemie-sized outfits still bring me to tears. I can’t believe she was so tiny.

    It is very hard to face the fact that there will be no more babies in my little family.

     

Leave a Reply

 
