RSS

Queueing for … preschool?

10 Sep

Yesterday I was told about an early learning centre attached to a large private school that is fantastic. Obviously it’s not for kids as little as my darling daughter, but if you want your kid to get in, she or he should have been on the waiting list since conception. This is for kids aged 4 and 5.

As I listened to a description of the syllabus, part of me was thinking “Wow! I want Mimi to get in on that!” But another part of me was thinking “Do they play a lot? Do they get enough naps? Is there enough benefit from attending that centre compared with continuing with her current centre or other schools in this city? Would we have the money for that? Would the hours cover what she currently has in childcare?”

I should add that I have not put Mimi’s name down for any private high schools here either. Bad mother? Delusional mother? Unsure mother? Maybe all of these. DH pointed out, some schools may improve and others get worse in the years before she’s old enough to go to high school.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 10, 2008 in Education, Motherhood, the mummy race

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Queueing for … preschool?

  1. andrea frazer

    September 17, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Okay, can I link this on Thursday if I don’t have a brain fart? If you say yes, and I forget, will you email me to remind you? BabyCenterAndrea@Yahoo.com

     
  2. meowmie

    September 19, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Sure you can.

     

Leave a Reply

 
