RSS

The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree

17 Sep

Beth Hering’s latest blog entry made me think of things that my daughter does that remind me of myself as a kid.

My daughter has a thing about accessories, and they have to match. None of that blue scarf with a brown handbag stuff*, and it has to look good, too.

She showed off her fashionista skills at a Gymbaroo class earlier this year when they brought out various items of clothing and so on at the end of mat time. Instantly she picked out bright pink sunglasses and put them on, searched for two sparkly pink high heeled sandals, pink and purple bangles and a long necklace. The other mothers laughed at her get-up and wondered aloud (tongue in cheek) where she got her accessorising gene from. In my neat outfit with a padded sleeveless dull gold jacket, Celtic-design scarf and gold and brown jewellery, I was in no position to pretend that the lass tossing her blonde curls and sashaying around the mat wasn’t mine. I just can’t sashay as well as she does, now that I’ve had to trade in my high heels for Kumfs and Birkenstocks.

I am not a believer in spending buckets of money on fashion. I can’t afford to and my body type seems to be catered for by either expensive, larger lady fashion or cheap and nasty slapper-wear. So each item gets looked after carefully, washed after each wear and put away in the wardrobe, and I have to change seasonal style with accessories instead. Speaking of which, I have a new handbag (no, not the chunky chav chain style which I am so over) and I have to save it from my daughter.

*It can work but it has to be the right shade.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree

  1. andrea frazer

    September 17, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Okay, your comment on my last post made me laugh out loud. Your daughter turns into a troll past 7? Ha ha ha ha. Very visual and very true for so many of us. Thank you for that.

     
  2. meowmie

    September 19, 2008 at 10:51 am

    She did her troll act that very night. Oy, my head! It’s as if she reads my blog!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
