RSS

Time to myself

11 Nov

I have the house to myself. I was going to the movies but realised there was nothing there that I especially wanted to see. I’ll wait until the Bond movie is released next week. That can be a treat after my social psychology exam. Goodness knows, I need some motivation to study harder.

I am listening to the Dixie Chicks’ album Taking the Long Way. Sorry, it’s doing nothing for me. Not Ready to Make Nice is the strongest track on the album, and the rest seems like the same song re-written a few times.

Toilet training DD is driving me nuts. Just sayin’. We’ve done drills on how to get to the toilet in a hurry, including how to pull down undies and clamber onto the seat, how to hold a dress or skirt out of the way, how to not lose undies off one’s ankles, and (oh boy) the demonstrations by a formerly-shy mummy. The worst bit was when DD wee’d on me on Sunday. Highly unimpressed with that, and she screamed with horror and then cried herself senseless. Then there was the Beanbag Incident. Let’s say only that styrofoam beads are not at all absorbent, and the beanbag now has matching stains on either side. I hope DD has a good day of it at childcare.

I have been an industrious gardener this morning before the heat and sun drove me indoors. I planted three grevilleas, hoping to attract some honeyeaters with the promise of food and shelter from the more predatory birds like currawongs. I put fertiliser on the roses. I counted up 15 roses that are doing OK and two that have given up completely. The regime of soapy water seems to have conquered the annoying aphids. I have no idea where the ladybirds have gone. We used to have lots of them but I’ve only seen a couple this year so far. I don’t use insecticide in the garden so I don’t know what caused them to leave.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 11, 2008 in Child Development, House

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Time to myself

  1. Ira Goodman

    November 12, 2008 at 7:31 am

    A low cost, green eco friendly, healthy natural way to deal with aphids is to make a homemade liquid from soapberry which grows on the Chinaberry tree and has been used for thousands of years. It works very effectively.

     

Leave a Reply

 
