RSS

Is it time for the tree yet?

25 Nov

Kristina’s post about holiday decorations has reminded me I’d better get my act together.

For a number of years, I’ve been pretty slack putting up Christmas decorations. For a couple of years, I didn’t even manage to put up a Christmas tree. Cards were stuck around the edge of the buffet and I found a couple of 15 cm high gilt reindeer going for a song, so they accompanied the cards. I should point out that it’s hard to get all Christmassy if you’ve got depression for the third year in a row.

Last year I managed to put up the tree about 2 weeks before Christmas and it was down and back in the shed by Epiphany.

This year, DD is fascinated by Christmas trees. She oohed and aahed over the tree in the window of our local pharmacy and gasped at the boughs of greenery swooping over customers’ heads in the shop. She thrills to sparkly lights and points out angels and Santa (I have to say she’s more interested in angels than Santa because she has no idea who Santa is).

I think this weekend I’ll have to scrabble around in the shed, fight the spiders and beetles, and emerge triumphant with a plastic tree. Oh Indiana Jones, if only you knew the adventure lurking in a suburban Canberra backyard! I think the decorations are still in a box in the shed, probably under an enormous cobweb. In fact, I was so slack last year that some decorations just ended up in the buffet in drawers. I have a plastic tub with a tight-fitting lid ready for the decorations this year, providing that DD doesn’t appropriate it for her toys. I’ve also just remembered that I have moved furniture in the loungeroom since last Christmas and need to move out some chairs and … oh, more blasted work! No, I should be more cheerful about it. If I hadn’t been decluttering through the past couple of months, I’d have more mess to deal with.

I suspect that DD doesn’t remember the Christmas tree from last year. I can’t wait to see her face!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2008 in decluttering project, Life Matters

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Is it time for the tree yet?

  1. Kristina

    November 25, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    Thanks for linking to my post. You’ll have a great time with DD this year. Take a pic so we can all see her face light up!

     
  2. meowmie

    November 28, 2008 at 9:31 am

    I’m sure DD will get more out of it. I can’t wait to see her face when she gets to decorate the tree!

     

Leave a Reply

 
