RSS

Age is a product of the mind

28 Nov

No, body and mind, I think. I keep on thinking “Who stole my beautiful skin and exchanged it for old lady’s skin? Who stole my hairstyle and decided I could have a middle-aged haircut?” The latter is particularly annoying. I had my hair cut yesterday and today it looks horrible. I almost wore a scarf to work.

I feel so dog tired, I can hardly keep my eyes open. I dare not do anything today that is irreparable or requires attention to detail. I had a bad night’s sleep last night, not in bed until 11.30 pm and then woken at 4 am by an enormous thunderstorm right overhead. DD was whimpering in her sleep, probably bad dreams. When I got out of bed, I looked at my pillow. Fully four-fifths of the pillow was taken up with a big tabby cat who had wrapped herself around my head! Honestly, those cats have a good life with us.

Toilet training is still stressful for DD. We have a deadline: she has to be completely and totally toilet trained before 6 Januar when she returns to preschool after the Christmas break. Oh boy. She still won’t “let go” when she’s sitting down and we are still having puddles to clean up on the floor. I find it hard to deal with on my own.

Our oldest cat is getting arthritic and in the last couple of days he seems to be in more pain. Off to the veterinary hospital on Saturday, providing that I can get an appointment for him. He is over 15 years old and has been very active all his life. It’s only in the last couple of months that he has really slowed down.

I want to have a barbecue next weekend but will need to come up with some ideas. I am sick of doing the same thing with meat and salad. OK, it’s not the world’s most exciting barbecue, just a gas one with a plate and a grill, but it works well.

I wrote 16 Christmas cards this week. Still more to do over the weekend. I have posted my overseas cards which was the priority.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2008 in cats, Life Matters

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
