RSS

Let me do that one again

15 Dec

Jamie Lee writes about do-overs for mothers, with her new term “mummagains”. Rather like a mulligan when you’re playing a friendly round of golf. (Goodness knows I needed a few of those when I was a golfer but my very competitive grandmothers would never give me one! LOL!)

There are always days that you wish you could do over again. To bite your tongue and not say that hurtful or stupid or heedless comment. To keep the car keys in your hand instead of locking them in the car. To remember all the items at the supermarket instead of having to make a second (or third!) trip there with a whingeing child. I find that the worse my back pain is, the greater the need for a do-over.

The biggest mummagain I want is to go back and do potty training without the stress and horror of potty boot camp. That routine did not work for DD and I should have pulled out earlier than I did. Net result: one child who has regressed with potty training. She knows how to do it, how to sit, what to do when she’s there, and so on, but she ended up not wanting to do it at all. I sent her to childcare today in undies after having time away from the stress of that, lots of positive ‘talking up’ potty training and so on. Oh boy. I hope she has some success today, for her sake. I feel that we were pressured into doing this before DD was ready simply because she is moving up a room at childcare and the expectation in the much bigger room is that every child is toilet trained. Needless to say, there’s a bit of the mummy race in that, too, with smug mothers parading their early-trained toddlers and wondering out loud if there is something wrong with children who are nearly three years old and still in nappies, or if their mothers are simply lazy.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 15, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Let me do that one again

  1. Jamie Lee

    December 15, 2008 at 2:17 pm

    Thanks for the shout out. It’s been great hearing from other moms who also feel they need a mummagain. 🙂

    So sorry to hear about the potty training debacle. Sometimes, I think the pressure we put on ourselves and our kids makes even the most natural things SO much more stressful. I hope things go well, but hope you’ll give yourself (and your DD) permission to take things slowly if you need to. To heck with the other moms. Not everyone has to be on the same schedule for everything. All in good time. All in good time.

    Best

     

Leave a Reply

 
