RSS

How many shopping days until Christmas?

15 Dec

I would faint at the closeness of Christmas and how it seems to have come at an alarming speed this year, except, well, something seems to have happened.

I simply don’t give a stuff.

I have bought presents for my immediate family and my in-laws. One gift certificate to buy (either today or tomorrow). I have some presents for my darling daughter. I’m not sure how I’ll get round to buying anything else. Chronic conditions have returned thanks to stress and I am honestly not up to fighting crowds in the mall, and it’s a bit late for internet ordering. I figure, as long as I’ve covered the important bases, that’s it.

I’ve given up on Christmas cards. I’ve sent out the most important ones. I feel too exhausted to sit down and write more.

I realise that the reason why I feel that way is because I’ve had weeks of writing thank you notes after DH’s funeral. I lost count of the number of notes I wrote after I had written 50. I now see why people put an ad in the paper under the heading of “Return Thanks”. Not my sort of thing and I honestly can’t put my finger on it. Maybe it’s logic – not all those who assisted at that difficult time are all from this same city. Maybe it’s the manners that were drummed into me – always send a handwritten note, even if it is only a few words to express your appreciation for kindness.

Today DD gave her Christmas card and a box of chocolates to the staff at her childcare centre. She had great pleasure in signing the card with her name and adding a couple of kisses to it. (My mum taught her that – fantastic, Mum!) I am very proud of her desire to write to people, even if it means I have to write down what she dictates.

I have cut down on the amount of television DD is allowed to watch. None at all on some evenings, maybe half an hour (Dora the Explorer or Sid the Science Kid are great favourites). It depends upon DD’s mood, how much I need to do without her under my feet, and what things we two are doing together. I can tell when I am having a ratty day: those are the days when DD gets over an hour of television and is a total pill to get to bed. She reacts like it’s a drug, honestly. So hard to get her tushy out of the chair and get her to clean her teeth, etc. It’s easier to avoid the television in the first place if at all possible. I’m not saying it’s always possible. I’m only human, I have limited time to get dinner made and I would rather we sit down to eat dinner together. No television at meal times. Think of it as an end of year resolution. Much easier than those made on New Year’s Eve.

Speaking of resolutions, you’ll be pleased to hear that I have managed to keep one of them. I am not watching repeats of TV programs that I had previously seen. I suspect I still watch too much TV (and exactly what is too much for adults?), and I have deliberately tried to read more books, though that’s easier said than done when there is a certain somebody who loves to interrupt her mum. 🙂

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “How many shopping days until Christmas?

  1. Jingle

    December 15, 2009 at 10:54 am

    great lists of gifts, yes, reading books is more beneficial than watching TV..good luck on your new year’s resolutions!

     
  2. kristina

    December 15, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    I think it sounds like you’ve already done a lot for Christmas and you’re in good shape and let anything else go. You’re bases are covered, and now it’s time to spend with your DD and doing things that make you feel good.

    I am the same way about handwritten notes. It’s a compulsion. But one I’m proud of.

    Take care, Kristina

     
  3. kim.hormonecoloreddays

    December 20, 2009 at 10:31 pm

    I’m sure, or at least hope, that the people in your life are sensitive to all you’ve been through in recent months and are understanding if you cut back on cards and such this year.

    Wishing you a happy holiday and a healthy, happy new year!

     
  4. meowmie

    December 22, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Thank you, and happy holidays to you and your family, too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
