RSS

Never a dull moment

21 Jan

DD loves to talk. No surprises there – she is her mother’s child after all. 😉

Her favourite times to talk are (a) when I’m listening to the news on the radio, (b) when I’m concentrating on a difficult part of cooking dinner, (c) when we’re in the car on the way to work and back and she has a captive audience.

The questions are neverending. I thought kids started the non-stop “Why?” questions at about 5. I hadn’t expected a 3-y-o to be an expert. Actually, she did a lot of that as a 2-y-o, too. At this stage, moving towards being a big 4-y-o girl, DD is practising her self-reassurance strategies and as a treat for my ears, this involves stating and re-stating truths that she holds as self-evident. Let me give you a well-worn example:

“We’re not afraid of daddy long legs spiders. They only have little mouths and they don’t want to bite us. They’re frightened of us.”

Then there is the Pointing Out of the Bleeding Obvious, which she may have learnt from her dad.

Ooh, there’s a spider web there. There’s an insect caught in it. The front door looks messy.

And I brought the most irritating one upon myself thanks to drilling her when she was rather slow to speak. If ever there was a reason to let kids take their own sweet time and for former teachers to keep their big mouths shut, this may well be it.

“Mummy, what is that?” DD will say, pointing to the local fire station.
“It’s a giant blue banana camouflaged as a fire station” mutters the exasperated mother.
Cue peals of laughter from the back seat of the car. “No, silly, it’s not a banana. It’s just a fire station.” Those conversations are no-wins for me.

Best of all are the ones where DD goes into a reverie about her day, what she can see, and what she imagines. Her train of thought goes on an interesting track through fairyland, the playground, relationships between people, and into imagination land. I wish I could set up a digital recorder to get her stories from the back seat of the car. They range from hysterical to wonderful.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2010 in Child Development, children, Motherhood

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Never a dull moment

  1. Betsy

    January 22, 2010 at 5:39 am

    I’ve got me a little chatterbox as well. I just responded to your comment over at Momformation. Esther just asked me today for a stuffed koala bear. Pretty coincidental, I’d say.
    Thanks, as always, for stopping in. Now get cleaning that front door. 🙂

     
  2. meowmie

    January 22, 2010 at 9:11 am

    Ha ha! Actually, I have the front door on my little list for the weekend. If it bugs me, it’s more likely to get done.

     
  3. Sprite's Keeper

    March 29, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Sprite is very much like DD! We have to be so careful with what we say, since some of our less stellar moments have been repeated in mixed audiences, like daycare teachers. 🙂
    You’re linked!

     
  4. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)

    April 2, 2010 at 10:05 pm

    Princess Nagger is definitely a chatterbox like your DD – they can certainly be a major entertainment factor, can’t they? 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
