RSS

Pet peeves

01 Feb

Don’t start me! Seriously, I’ve got a list and it’s not a little list. I’m going to avoid the biggies.

  • People who tailgate you when you’re driving at the speed limit
  • People who don’t RSVP to invitations
  • People who “forget” to turn up to events to which they have accepted an invitation
  • People who ‘unfriend’ you online for no obvious purpose, except maybe you’ve lost your shininess and allure
  • Squeaky hinges
  • Squeaky floorboards
  • Mysterious stinks in the bathroom or kitchen or kitty litter
  • Cat up-chucks on a beige carpet
  • The smell of wee
  • People who leave dirty dishes in the sink at work
  • People who will not shake hands when one is offered, either at work or at a social setting
  • People who expect me to get rid of spiders and insects

See? I told you it was a list.  Now share with me your own pet peeves or tell me why some of mine are wrong!

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2010 in Defies description, spin cycle, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

14 responses to “Pet peeves

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    February 2, 2010 at 12:30 am

    Nope. I can’t find a single fault with any one of your pet peeves! I am the same way with RSVP’s, but have been guilty of not RSVP-ing to parties I had no intention of going to. I’m trying to fix that though. Promise! You’re linked!

     
  2. Ellie Belen

    February 2, 2010 at 2:25 am

    Okay, I didn’t even consider the pet issues. I’m sort of happy I don’t have any, yet.

     
    • meowmie

      February 2, 2010 at 9:13 am

      Pet issues are manageable – I’ve had cats all my life so I’m used to them – but every now and then there is something Utterly Vile in the kitty litter that takes my breath away.

       
  3. suzicate

    February 2, 2010 at 5:03 am

    Good list….they all irk me, too. The nonhandshakers are either germophobes or snobs!

     
    • meowmie

      February 2, 2010 at 9:12 am

      Non-handshakers kind of confuse me. Do I have cooties? Are their hands limp and damp? Or don’t they shake hands with women? There’s some cultural mystery going on there.

       
  4. jan2132

    February 2, 2010 at 6:54 pm

    People who leave dirty dishes on the bench on top of the dishwasher!

    Those who leave a tablespoon of icecream in the container or one sheet on the toilet roll. “Oh, but it wasn’t empty!”

    I’m with you on the cat chuck. Our small Abyssinian has her moments. We can avoid many of them by following a particular routine. However, she seems to be able to produce some at will if she’s displeased with someone in the house. Like right next to the bed, or halfway down the stairs. Or even on DIL’s bed. She’s really DIL’s cat. Along with gross sound effects in the middle of the night.

    Oh, and as both a teacher and mum, I hated other mum’s who sent their children to school obviously quite ill.

     
    • meowmie

      February 3, 2010 at 9:15 am

      Oh yes, I hate it when really sick kids are sent to childcare, too. My DD ends up with asthma if there’s any upper respiratory tract infection going round, I catch it, too, and both of us are miserable and wheezy.

       
  5. jan2132

    February 2, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    AAAGH! As a teacher I totally disown that “mum’s” in my comment above. Typos.

     
  6. VandyJ

    February 3, 2010 at 2:32 am

    The tailgater drivers annoy me too. I also dislike the drivers who think they are safer if they drive 10 miles under the speed limit in town. They are a hazard for those of us going the speed limit.

     
    • meowmie

      February 3, 2010 at 9:16 am

      Good point. There is a happy medium which I reckon is … ta da! the speed limit! I saw an accident narrowly averted the other day when someone was driving at 60 kph in an 80 kph zone.

       
  7. jan2132

    February 3, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Just a quick note to say I sent you a private message on SoF.

     
  8. Patty

    February 5, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    I am so with you on the smells. I have three small children so the smell of wee and poop is everywhere, it seems.

     
  9. Christopher (AKA: CaJoh)

    February 6, 2010 at 4:33 am

    Stopping by from the Spin Cycle…

    I like how you include Pets in the Pet Peeves list. Our dog tends to beg for something and it peeves me to have to go through the long list of possibilities. Can’t they just learn to speak English?…

    Thanks for sharing,

     
  10. Ginger

    February 6, 2010 at 11:44 pm

    I don’t folks who won’t shake hands, either. It’s so rude!

     

Leave a Reply

 
