RSS

Valentine’s Day – why the secret?

09 Feb

Help me out – I totally don’t get the idea of showing my love via an anonymous, secret card confessing true love and passion … but no darn name! Maybe it’s a social thing? Maybe Australians don’t get it. Maybe I am not sufficiently romantic.

What if the recipient is monumentally embarrassed? (Or is that the point?) Or if the recipient thinks that someone else sent the card and then another person is the lucky, tho’ inadvertent recipient of return passion? Help me out!

FWIW, I am a bit of a loser when it comes to Valentine’s Day. I guess that it has never really featured on my calendar as an important date. It was always more important to me to remember my wedding anniversary, or my husband’s birthday, and MOST IMPORTANTLY to tell my husband that I loved him and appreciated the wonderful things he did. Not just on special occasions. I sort of feel that it’s a cop-out, that day. You can be a useless spouse or partner most of the year but if you get the roses and card and chocolates and romantic dinner right on one day of the year, then you get enough credit points to save your sorry butt during the hard times.

Oh dear. I have turned into a cynic again.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 9, 2010 in holidays

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “Valentine’s Day – why the secret?

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    February 9, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I can see why some people don’t like Valentine’s Day since some others use it as an excuse to for their behavior during the other days of the year. I dated a guy like that once. I broke up with him because I didn’t want to waste 364 days just for one day of happiness. And the last time I sent an anonymous card to someone? Oy, tenth grade? I think my cheeks are pinking up NOW remembering that! You’re linked!

     
    • meowmie

      February 11, 2010 at 9:04 am

      Good way of putting it – 364 days versus 1 day. Yup, day to day reality wins out.

       
  2. Jan

    February 11, 2010 at 1:40 am

    I’m not all about Valentine’s Day either (I was surprised because so many of the Spins are about how it’s no big deal). But I can also tell you that Beloved and I BOTH completely forgot our wedding anniversary this year.

     
    • meowmie

      February 11, 2010 at 9:04 am

      LOL! That’s the way to do it – that way neither can accuse the other of being the only one who forgot!

       
  3. Mama Badger

    February 12, 2010 at 1:33 am

    Yeah, I’m not all about being passive every other day, and great on one day. But why is everyone so against an excuse for a little extra romance? Does the idea of some flowers and chocolates really seem that bad?

    Sigh, I just might be the only one keeping Russel Stover’s in business this year. Me and all the 5 year olds handing out the Mickey Mouse valentines. So be it.

     
    • meowmie

      February 12, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      Aww, I wouldn’t say no to a choccy. DH would often get me chocolates for Valentine’s Day but then again, he’d get choccies at other times of the year too.

       
  4. Christopher (AKA: CaJoh)

    February 13, 2010 at 4:31 am

    Stopping by from the Spin Cycle…

    I never thought of sending a Secret Valentine’s card. I guess I always want my sentiments to be noticed. Of course if I ever do that today it may be grounds for divorce.

    Thanks for sharing,

     
  5. Patty

    February 15, 2010 at 8:21 am

    And on the other hand, you could be a great spouse, but if you happen to forget Valentine’s Day, it could put you in the doghouse for weeks. I agree with you.

    Course, I do like the excuse this day gives me to ingest vast quantities of chocolate.

     

Leave a Reply

 
