RSS

I am the centre of the universe

19 Feb

Either that, or I’m a black hole and my gravity is pulling all things towards me. That seems like the neatest explanation of DD’s method of circling around me.

I haven’t been the recipient of this ‘gotta be near you’ feeling for a long time. When DD was 2 years old, I would find her sitting outside the loo door waiting for me, or banging on the door, or (even better), opening the door because she wanted to be with me. Didn’t mean she toilet-trained early, though.

Nowadays, DD has started this again in the morning. She may move away from me while she eats her toast, but she comes back like she’s on a bungee cord. She now has to supervise me cleaning my teeth, and I’ve lost count of the number of times that I’ve jumped from surprise at finding her standing silently right outside the loo door.

DD is also very keen on holding my hand when we walk from the car to childcare, or when we are somewhere strange. It had previously taken quite a while to get her to hold my hand so this is fine.

I could grumble about this but I won’t. In the afternoon, after work and childcare, DD seems much more tired and is happy to have some time on her own, maybe reading or doing some quiet colouring in and writing. But as soon as I start clattering away in the kitchen to get the evening meal prepared, there is DD, ready to help. I won’t complain. Who knows when I will suddenly be as attractive as last week’s bread? I’ll enjoy her attention, her love and her need for me, and love her all the way to the moon and back in return.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 19, 2010 in Life Matters, Motherhood

 

Tags: ,

One response to “I am the centre of the universe

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    February 19, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Thinking about it, you’re right. You ARE the sun in her universe.

     

Leave a Reply

 
