RSS

I confess

24 Feb

My list of minor mea culpas.

1. I can’t stand Bob Dylan or Neil Young, even if most of my friends think they’re the cat’s pyjamas.

2. I blame other people for messes sometimes. Makes me look slightly less disgusting.

3. I have blamed my DD for creating marks on my work shirts. The truth is, I am too lazy to change a shirt just because there’s a mark on it. Heck, it may even be toothpaste from clumsy me.

4. I don’t read enough. I slob around and watch TV because that takes less effort. My years of university study must have worn me out.

5. I procrastinate. That’s why it took me so long to write this list.

6. I find my OCD too hard to deal with sometimes, but other times I sort of like it because it validates me being different.

7. I forgot to RSVP to DD’s friend’s birthday party until today. Party is on Saturday. I suck.

8. Sometimes I don’t take a stand when I should. Like telling people to stop being mean or homophobic, or that their words are like arrows rather than amusing bons mots. I’m getting a bit better with this but I still quake in my shoes while I’m telling people.

8.a. Actually, it was worth growing a spine and standing up for things more often.

9. I left my previous church because I couldn’t stand the music. It was appalling and I hate choruses anyway. I didn’t have the guts to tell the minister that that was the principal reason for leaving.

10. I’ve fallen asleep during intercessory prayers at church. That’s why I don’t kneel for prayers. Well, that, and the fact that my knees and back are getting worse.

11. I compare myself to other mothers and sometimes I fall short, and other times I am smug and think “Thank goodness I’m not like her”. I’m particularly ashamed about that.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in Defies description, Life Matters

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “I confess

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    February 25, 2010 at 1:05 am

    11. We ALL do it. 🙂
    I hope you feel better because you’re FORGIVEN!
    And linked!

     
  2. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)

    February 25, 2010 at 10:24 am

    I can relate to a lot of those confessions! 🙂

     
  3. VandyJ

    February 26, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    I procrastinate too. If I didn’t nothing would get done. I need the pressure to do well.

     
    • meowmie

      February 27, 2010 at 12:40 pm

      Good point. Sometimes the time pressure causes me to do even better work than usual, but other times it means I give up completely, which is more likely if I’m a bit blue at the time.

       
  4. Erin@TheLocalsLoveIt

    February 27, 2010 at 8:52 am

    #8 is something I really wish I could master. I always think of what I should have said to someone AFTER I’ve walked away.

    How else is someone suppose to know their being a jack ass unless I buck up and tell them?

    I’m working on it too.

     
    • meowmie

      February 27, 2010 at 12:41 pm

      Good luck – hope we both get better at this.

       
  5. Patty

    March 4, 2010 at 5:42 am

    I always blame my kids for the state of my clothes, even if I happen to be the one who probably spilled her food… I also am smug sometimes and I totally HATE that about myself, because I know in just a few short minutes, something will happen to remind me of how easy it is to have something go wrong as a mom. And boy do I need to grow a spine.

     

Leave a Reply

 
