RSS

Sports

02 Mar

Just as well this site doesn’t come with audio, otherwise you’d hear my hysterical laughter at the topic of this week’s Spin Cycle.

I am one of the least sporty people I know. I have tried desperately to be good at a sport, one sport, even moderately passable, and all to no avail. Let me tell you my least-embarrassing failures.

1. Golf. My two darling younger brothers were both far better than I. I never improved my game despite slogging through the fairways and sweating on the greens on a regular basis. My handicap remained the highest you could have. I’d like to blame the golf clubs, but that would be a lie. I was relieved when I got RSI in both arms and could no longer play golf and resigned from the (expensive) golf club. Youngest brother is still playing and he’s good.

2. Karate. I spent several years doing this. Trus me to do Kyokushin simply because the dojo was nearest to my house. Not a good choice for me. That’s where I learned again about my low pain threshold and how a stuffed up lower back means high kicks totally suck. I had to give up before my back gave in.

3. Hockey. I played field hockey in high school for a year. I was only chosen to play in a match ONCE. I was devastated. In retrospect, I wasn’t that bad but the team was very, very good and got good results. I gave up completely.

4. Cross country running. I liked the running through paddocks and the bush but honestly, running round the bloody school oval? That is NOT cross country and it bored me witless. I’ve never been into running since though I suspect with a better back I’d be interested in parkour.

Now I pedal away dutifully on my exercise bike while catching up on NCIS and when my back isn’t feeling too awful, I try to walk as much as I can without aggravating the pain. Swimming is hard logistically – DD can’t swim properly and I can’t do laps while she mucks around in the small pool because I must be near her.*

*Don’t tell me to get a babysitter. At $15 an hour and the prices go upwards, that is not going to happen. There is no creche at the pool.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 2, 2010 in spin cycle

 

3 responses to “Sports

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    March 3, 2010 at 2:28 am

    I completely hear you on the swimming thing. Why am I going to pay someone to babysit while I go to the pool for an hour? That adds up! I used to run cross country in high school. Now I run cross-Nord. I like the Nord better. 🙂
    You’re linked!

     
  2. meowmie

    March 3, 2010 at 11:12 am

    I would have to increase my fitness before trying cross-Nord. After a nasty fall when I was 40 weeks pregnant, I messed up something in my right knee and though the discomfort and weird squishy noises went away after a few months, the darn thing has flared up again. Yet another reason to lose weight. Grrrrrrr!

     
  3. Camille

    March 5, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    Karate! I’m impressed. I’ve always wanted to try it. Thanks for the spin!

     

Leave a Reply

 
