RSS

Mom Fail

05 Mar

I am considering adding that as a category on this blog.

I failed this morning. I want a re-do but that won’t happen. I’ve been a bundle of misery and tears for the past 36 hours or more, probably thanks to my wedding anniversary coming up. This morning I was tired due to broken sleep and getting to bed late anyway, DD started whingeing for food while we were in the coffee queue, and I gave up on all hope for caffeine. I told her neither she nor I are allowed to whinge, I’d given her two warnings, and that was it.

Normally it would stop at that point, the two of us walking to the car, her in silence with tears slowly rolling down her cheeks, and me holding her hand, wondering if I could make things better either this time or next time. No, not today. I picked up the pace, still holding her hand, DD got stubborn, then tried to pick up the pace, and then fell and skinned her knee.

Bad mom. I wish I could say it stopped there but my tiredness and crabbiness meant I was not as kind as I should have been and I couldn’t believe the crap that came out of my mouth, going on about no whingeing for food.

Yes, DD’s knee was cleaned and bandaged up and she’s OK. But I am already feeling pretty vile and this was the stinkin’ icing on the rotten cupcake. To think that a happy morning turned 180 degrees so quickly. I need to grow up.

And apologise to DD when I pick her up this afternoon. A big, sincere apology.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2010 in Motherhood, the mummy race

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Mom Fail

  1. jan2132

    March 5, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    There are lots of things to say, but ultimately they would mean very little.

    Can I just say how sorry I am that things are like this for you.
    Jan

     
  2. andrea frazer

    March 21, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Meowie – You are a GREAT mom. You are a great person. And yes, I don’t know you, but I know this. Much love to you! Andrea

     

Leave a Reply

 
