RSS

It’s all about me

24 Mar

Who am I?

  • Mum
  • Mighty marvellous paid worker – project management with flair
  • Former uni student
  • Theatre reviewer
  • Music teacher in my (ha ha) free time
  • Wonderful friend and confidante
  • Courier service for small child
  • Laundress who refuses to iron clothes
  • Chief cook and bottle washer, and maitre d’ with attitude
  • So-so cleaner and decluttering expert
  • Mad writer
  • Editor for brothers who write
  • Tech expert for family
  • Social worker and counsellor and part-time psychologist whenever things turn up – these skills aren’t offered but for some unknown reason, I always seem to be the person who is asked these questions or brought in to solve or mend broken things
  • Crazy cat lady

In the interest of honesty and word count, I’ll tell you a few things that I am not.

I’m not a wife. I was widowed last year and it was a horrific shock. I miss being a wife, I loved my DH and I miss his love and support. The support meant I felt safe, I could strive for things and know that he was looking out for me and would help me the best that he could.

I’m not a wuss. I don’t keel over at crappy things, and I have the sense to call in the cavalry when I need help.

I’m not anyone’s partner. This is odd. This is the first time in I don’t know how many years that I have been ‘on my own’. And so help me, I’m gonna smack the first idiot who says “Hey, sister, it’s a wonderful learning time. You’ll work out how wonderful and self-sufficient you are.” Those are fighting words. I *know* that I am wonderful, self-sufficient, smart and a darn hard worker.  I *know* that I can exist on my own. I *can* do things on my own and I do them well. I do not need some patronising twit to ‘interpret’ my singleness in a way that makes them happy. That makes the snarky me want to come out with comments about projection.

So, hey, welcome to me!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 24, 2010 in Odd stuff, spin cycle

 

Tags: ,

One response to “It’s all about me

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    March 29, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    I like this you! It’s that tenacity that will keep you fighting even when you feel like sitting it out. Keep punching out those “Stereotypists” that like everyone pigeon-holed into neat little categories. You’re linked!

     

Leave a Reply

 
