RSS

Mother’s Day

10 May

If someone asks me why I haven’t updated this blog for a while, this is my answer: “Woof! Woof!” Gotta love that asthma bark. Poor DD has it as well and thanks to her barking at night, I have had poor sleep for quite a few nights over the past week. That sleep deprivation carries on to other arenas: I’m less resilient to a number of things (including stress), I may not notice every fine detail like I usually do, and my temper gets pretty short.

Yesterday, Mother’s Day, could well have been renamed “Mom Fail Day” because that’s what it was for me. DD was a pill, and who knows how much the asthma had to do with it. She woke me early, sassed me, refused to help me and more. The behaviour continued at church and then there was the long drive for a family lunch after that. My personal, grieving meltdown in my parked car was most unattractive and I wish that DD had never seen that. She sure looked surprised, not to mention relieved when I finished.

Even today I feel like crap. Everything is too hard. I honestly didn’t think Mother’s Day would be so difficult. After all, DH usually forgot it and he didn’t see any particular reason to get me a present or a card to start with. Honestly, all I wanted was a day off, no cooking, no responsibilities, not even a special lunch or dinner or a piece of jewellery.

Bah. I hope you had a better day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in grief, Life Matters, Motherhood

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
