RSS

It’s not the kid, it’s the mum

12 May

Today I had another instance of wondering what on earth my DD thinks of me. Not in a bad way, just in a weird, who is your mother? way.

At school DD and her friends have picked up an unpleasant way of comparing and contrasting which is pretty much par for the course at that age. If one person has a good quality, nobody else will have such a good quality.

I complimented DD on how neat her hair was after she brushed it. She smiled at herself in the mirror and tried out her new annoying contrast mechanism. “Mummy, my hair is all beautiful. And yours isn’t pretty.”

I replied, “Honey, beauty isn’t a zero-sum game.” Cue blank stare from DD. Oh yes, 7.30 am is waaaaay too early for that sort of thing, probably even for mothers. And yes, I explained what I meant in more age-appropriate terms. Sigh.

At least I had the chance to teach DD and her friends terms like humerus, phalanx, and tibia when they were assembling a skeleton puzzle at preschool. 🙂

 
 

Tags: ,

One response to “It’s not the kid, it’s the mum

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    May 20, 2010 at 10:01 am

    Sprite loves to compare only when she’s looking to see if what you have is better than what she has.

     

Leave a Reply

 
