RSS

I’m a softie

14 May

… and I’m not ashamed to admit it.

This article about young Paige Bennethum who, along with her mom and siblings, has happily welcomed home her dad Staff Sgt. Brett Bennethum, has touched my heart.

The original photo which you can see in the newspaper article online brought tears to my eyes. Part of it was the continued reminder of families that troops across the world must leave as they go to fight and protect their own countries. And a bigger part was remembering how important family was to me when I was little. I was Daddy’s girl and he was my world. I honestly don’t know how I could have endured having my dad go overseas to fight when I was Paige’s age, and I understand how she wanted to get every moment she could with her dad, and how important it was to hold his hand, to squeeze every bit of love before he left.

Bless you all.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 14, 2010 in family, News, Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “I’m a softie

  1. Mama Zen

    May 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Oh, I am so glad that he made it home!

     
  2. andrea frazer

    May 15, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    I’m sure with your situation in particular it’s rough. I am so sorry about your husband. I also want you to know I”M HERE If you want to email. Andrea.Paventi@Gmail.com

     
  3. Sprite's Keeper

    May 20, 2010 at 10:00 am

    How lovely! THESE are the stories I like to read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
