RSS

Pets

17 Jun

I have a deficiency, some would say I’m dysfunctional. It has nothing to do with me being a bit OCD or anxious, or having wild hair or forgetting to put on make-up in the morning, or singing aloud in car parks.

I have never owned a dog myself.

Now, in the history of humankind, I’m not the only person in that category but to a huge group of people I know, there is obviously something a little odd about me. I already qualify as odd for (a) the reasons listed above and (b) having had cats for my entire life. But the dog thing is completely incomprehensible without having been through trauma.

I like dogs. They are fun, generous, smelly, noisy, curious, bouncy, excitable, reserved, thoughtful, loyal and more. Hundreds of different colour and coat combinations, different heights, different demeanours and attitudes. And yet I still haven’t had my own dog.

To be true, I could have have brought a puppy to the house when our cats were younger and the cats would have most likely trained the puppy into a proper “cat-fearing” dog, but DH didn’t want a dog and I didn’t want one enough to put in the effort. So we remained dog-less.

The more I think about it, the more I think it is not due to me loving cats. It is because the dogs who were valued by my family members were all working dogs on the farm. Tough Australian kelpies and collies, the pride of a working farm and the best dogs in the world. You don’t mess around with a sheepdog – he is a member of the farm team and family, and puts in more work than you do some days. This photo gallery will give you an idea of what these fine dogs do. Consequently, I look a bit surprised (still!) when people tell me their dogs sleep on their beds, and so on.

In the meantime, I will be that soppy woman who loves cats, walks other people’s dogs and tells her DD that despite the size of our house, a dachshund just wouldn’t fit in.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 17, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Pets

  1. Sprite's Keeper

    June 18, 2010 at 12:41 am

    And there’s nothing wrong with that! We’re kind of the opposite, would never really consider having cats, although Sprite asked for one recently and I told her that her daddy and I were allergic. Kind of true, but with two dogs who have been in the family long before she was even a twinkle in my eye, there’s just no room.
    You’re linked!

     
  2. Patty

    June 18, 2010 at 7:08 am

    I can see your point. Though I love dogs, I don’t have much of a desire to own one. I especially have no desire to care for them, especially the paper training, etc. Course, that could have something to do with the horrible potty training experiences I have had..

     
  3. Michele

    June 18, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    We had a wonderful boarder collie on our farm that worked his heart out and never dreamed of sleeping on the bed. Now, that we are farmless our lovable, sweet and worthless Goldendoodle spends every night on our bed. Go figure.

     
    • meowmie

      June 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm

      Oh boy, this sounds like friends of mine. Ten years after selling the farm, they wonder how on earth that Jack Russell terrier ends up sleeping on their bed when there’s a perfectly fine dog bed there.

       
  4. Stacy (the Random Cool Chick)

    June 18, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Our dogs sleep in our beds with us…they’re spoiled rotten. 😉 Of course if we lived on a working farm, the sleeping arrangements might be different. 😉 They can be a lot of work, though – and a lot more responsibility than cats since cats are so independent – which is why I only had cats when I first moved out of my parents house – food, water, litter box and they were good to go! 🙂

    Spin Cycle: All About Pets

     
  5. VandyJ

    June 19, 2010 at 12:58 am

    I love my cats but my hubby is a dog person and since I have boys we will continue to be dog people, however I will always have a cat around, no matter what those boy people say.

     

Leave a Reply

 
