RSS

The Arts and Crafts Movement

13 Sep

That is, the movement of craft creations from DD’s preschool to my house via my car. At either of these stops, the creation may stay way past its welcome. I wish I’d taken a few photos – should do that soon.

Think of it … flowers made from cupcake cases stuck on popsicle sticks. “Special” boxes for jewellery, originally lightbulb or battery boxes with scraps of coloured paper adorning them, texta markings and maybe even a bit of glitter.

Then there’s the arts side. A2 paper with strategically-placed blobs of paint in mysterious patterns. I think DD and the cats understand the paintings but for the rest of us, it’s a mystery unless the artist deigns to explain her vision. Consequently, many of DD’s paintings have an explanation neatly printed underneath by me. On some of them, DD has asked me to draw arrows to figures so that people will know that that person is Mummy and that person is DD.

Please don’t get me wrong. I think that DD’s artistic vision and ability are interesting. She sees things in a different way from me, and that’s how it should be. I’ve got her pictures on the refrigerator and in her bedroom and we regularly post them to family members. Now if only I could post the craft projects.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 13, 2010 in Child Development

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
