RSS

Australia behind in mummy-blogging

11 Oct

OK, maybe not so much behind, as may be inferred – perhaps I mean ‘different’ and ‘less stuffed with reviews’. I’ve been thinking about this by reading items by Sophie Blanc and Kim Moldofsky.

I’ve been blogging via Live Journal for about 6 or so years and moved some of my child-centric posts here. Partly to cut down on the kid posts on LJ, partly to speak to a different group of people (my LJ is mainly friendslocked). I’m on Facebook. I use that to keep in touch with my local friends who I see at choir, parties, communities, local groups and so on. What I write on FB is different from what is on LJ, and maybe there is a bit of overlap with my Word Press blog if I see articles I like.

So, dated 30 September 2010, here is an article from Australia about the rise of the mummy blogger by Sophie Blanc. Please read it, especially if you’re a blogger in North America, to get an idea of what things are like here in Australia.

After reading Kim Moldofsky’s blog (a writer in the USA), especially the thoughtful post Think before you act, I was reminded again about the proliferation of mommies-for-hire, not as babysitters but as trendsetters, marketers, and publicists. One of the things I like about Kim’s blog is the care she takes about any product that she may consider reviewing. In her words, she’s “picky”, and y’know, that’s not a bad thing to be. Is the product something that the blogger would happily use herself, or buy at the shops, or repeat buy, or give to friends who are important and dear to her? I’d add to that, does my background knowledge allow me to be fooled into thinking that Item Y or Z is healthy or safe? Thank you, Kim, for bringing these thoughts forward.

I can tell you that I’m going waaaaaay off the blog section of BabyCenter called MOMformation for the constant, unrelenting stream of reviews of useless items. At some point, when my peevishness has increased, I will do a ratio of actual interesting blog entries vs those bloody boring reviews and crappy celebrity rubbish items. The MOMformation revamp was a waste as far as I can tell.

I’ll finish by returning to Sophie Blanc’s article. Good points – I wonder what the answer will prove to be.

Blogger fame is certainly going to rise as individuals gain an almost cult-like following and begin to gain recognition in the ‘real world’. I was blog-hopping to a couple of US sites, intrigued to find that in places like L.A., PR luvvies now invite influence-wielding bloggers with over 10,000 followers on all-expenses paid holidays or to Hollywood parties in order to gain trustworthy endorsement of their products. Curious to see what content these bloggers offered, I was surprised to see some sites were light on actual writing but are crammed with advertising as companies leaped on board and followers who were following simply for the freebies, giveaways and kudos of following someone famous. Is this what our future holds or is it simply a reflection of consumer America? Will bloggers gaining fame in Australia reflect the no-bullshit attitude of Australians in general or will they succumb to corporations desire to use everything in their scope to further their marketing goals?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 11, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
