RSS

Ironing – the elephant in the room

19 Nov

Well, it used to be the elephant in the room, trying to grow out of the laundry basket. Then I dealt with it.

All unironed items are put away in the wardrobe. If I’m desperate enough to iron something before I wear it, I’ll do it in a mad dash in the morning. If I feel like I need to work up a store of virtue (for future misdemeanours), I’ll open the wardrobe and bring a few slightly crumpled shirts to the ironing board.

One of the most annoying things about summer (apart from the heat and the garden shrivelling up) is that most of my work clothes for summer are linen or cotton and need to be ironed. If I could get away with drip-dry polyester all year round, I would.

And now I find I have a child who is allergic to a number of artificial fabrics and some textures of fabrics. The solution is cute cotton sundresses. Brilliant – many of them wash and dry easily and don’t need ironing. But the ones she loves the most are the ones that require ironing. Bother. There are two sitting in the elephant basket now, glaring at me, daring me to tell DD where they are.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
