RSS

On the “oh cute!” side

10 Dec

DD was in the mood for Christmas carols tonight. She listened to the tinny, high-pitched electronica coming from her little Christmas tree, then I suggested that I could play some on the piano and she could have a bit of a practice before we sing on Christmas Day at church. She agreed (a miracle in itself considering that she has wailed mightily for years every time I try to play the piano) and she dragged a chair beside me.

While we went through The First Nowell and other well-known carols, she was particularly taken with Love Came Down at Christmas, the Christina Rossetti poem set to the tune of “Hermitage”. She la-la-la’ed along to the music, tinkled away on the highest notes of the piano, and demanded 3 encores. Here’s hoping that someone puts this on the list at one of the church services we attend.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in Church, Music

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “On the “oh cute!” side

  1. Jan

    December 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Lovely.

    Thanks for the link to Griffin given below. I’ve enjoyed picking pieces to listen to hear today.

    I miss choral singing but the hearing aids I now need to wear are not good for singing. I can’t hear the people around me accurately and so sing with them, which is the crux of choral singing. I now sing sharp as that’s what I hear.

    One conductor said he would tell me if I was off at any point. What’s the point? I can’t hear without them and I can’t change what I hear to the actual note. I cope at church but I’ve dropped choirs.

     
    • meowmie

      December 13, 2010 at 9:50 am

      It sounds hard. Altering your pitch, particularly minutely, under the direction of someone else is hard enough when you have full hearing. I do this with my voice students and it takes quite a bit of time to get used to it. Must be more difficult with other parts singing around you.

      I like the pieces that are on Griffin’s website and I’ve been making a list of things I’d like to hear more often.

       
  2. andrea frazer

    December 11, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    I didn’t know you sang at church. How are you feeling this holiday season? Thinking of you! Andrea

     
    • meowmie

      December 13, 2010 at 9:46 am

      Hi Andrea – good to hear from you. Been wondering how you and your family are going, particularly since your blog seems to be inactive. Love to you all.

       

Leave a Reply

 
