RSS

Christmas shopping

23 Dec

Love the article titled Real men don’t do early Christmas shopping. Not entirely true and I bet there are a few women who leave everything until Christmas Eve.

But I’m one of those strange creatures who can get the shopping done by November. Partly that’s because I see things in the mid-year sales and pick them up then, partly it’s because I see things in the Avon catalogue that are just perfect (and the roll-on soaps in Christmas packaging for children are perfect stocking stuffers and non-lolly presents for DD’s little mates at preschool), and I loathe shopping in the December rush.

Having said that, I can’t say that the shops in Civic appeared particularly stuffed full when I ventured in last week. I still had to buy a gift card and some books. No huge queues at checkouts (maybe that will be on Christmas Eve), items being discounted further, and accompanying tinny muzak that hurt my ears.

I was determined to avoid buying more plastic to bring into the house. I think I managed to do that! Yay! I might buy some tinsel after Christmas for next year, though given the beating that was handed out to the Christmas decorations while they were in the shed (think cat pee on the box for starters), I’m re-thinking that idea.

Here’s some of Lisa Wilkinson’s smart ideas to help blokes with last-minute shopping from the article I mentioned above. Way to go, Lisa!

Things you shouldn’t buy
1 Lingerie that is a size or more too big. No prizes for guessing why
2 A vacuum cleaner. No prizes on this one either
3 A slab of beer (because we’re wise to you….we know that’s not for us)
4 Any product that contains any combination of the words “anti” and “cellulite” in the title

If in doubt, buy good champagne or Chanel No. 5, I reckon.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2010 in Budget

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Christmas shopping

  1. Jan

    December 23, 2010 at 11:14 am

    Can I also say that a weedwand and a bottle of Zero weedkiller is also not a good idea at all! Just saying, don’t ask me how I know.

     
  2. meowmie

    December 30, 2010 at 10:27 am

    Oh boy, that’s a gift that you’ll never forget. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
