RSS

The art of children’s art

29 Sep

DD is an enthusiastic artist. She loves her coloured felt pens, crayons and pencils. Her skies are a bright blue, the sun is a cheery yellow with rays reaching out, and her people and animals have happy smiles.

That saying, I should start scanning some of her drawings here so you can guess what she is drawing. I have got into the habit of writing on the back of some drawings how she has described the picture.

On Sunday, her children’s church reading was from Revelations. The children were invited to create art based upon their understanding. DD’s drawing had an amazing tree which I think was the Tree of Life (Rev. 22:2) and more. The teacher showed the pictures to the congregation during the notices at the end of the service and pointed out DD’s little rabbit near the tree. The teacher pointed out “Look, the rabbit has wings. I think it’s an angel rabbit”.

When DD returned to our pew, she whispered to me “It’s not an angel rabbit. Those are its claws!”

Picture to follow!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “The art of children’s art

  1. Dormouse

    September 29, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    I like the idea of an angel rabbit with wings! I also very much hope there are cat angels too – if I don’t meet Pumpkin & Manda in heaven I shall be bitterly dissappointed!

    I often read your blog but rarely, if ever, comment. I’ve decided to comment more on blogs, so you know there are People Out There who read it.

    I hope you might pop over to me sometime too.

     
  2. meowmie

    September 30, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    I tried to scan the drawing but it would scan clearly – maybe it’s the light pink ink of the felt pen DD used.

     

Leave a Reply

 
