RSS

Things in little kids’ noses

01 Nov

I enjoy reading The Naughty Corner and the discussion I read today is on things that kids stuff up their noses.

Seriously weird, people. And I can say that as a confirmed nose stuffer as a kid. I put peas up my nose on a regular basis. Thank goodness Poppa knew how to get them out. Also things in my ears. Now the only things that will go in my ears are earrings through my earlobes. That’s it! I’m traumatized enough!

DD put a purple fluffy craft ball up her nose in kindergarten. I have no idea why. She claimed that it had fallen out when she was playing in the playground but I couldn’t see it on the softfall and I was rather suspicious. Increased snot flow (yuck!), funny snores, and since I had to take her to the GP the next day, I asked him to look up her nostrils. Sure enough, there was a small purple ball which he was able to retrieve with tweezers. He’s a dad, too, so he kindly provided us with a small specimen jar to keep the offending craft ball. I’d include a photo just to prove it, but DD chucks a wobbly every time I pull it out of the cupboard, citing shame and embarrassment. Obviously I’ll have to keep that for her 18th birthday party!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Things in little kids’ noses

  1. Jan

    November 1, 2011 at 9:59 am

    I had three boys. The youngest pushed a screw up his nose when he was about three. We found out when he said his nose was itchy. Fortunately it went up with flat head at top so doctor could grab the pointy end with forceps.

    Middle son had a sultana squished down his ear by his older brother. I could get that one out with tweezers.

     
  2. meowmie

    November 1, 2011 at 11:28 am

    I guess the doctor could have used a screwdriver to retrieve the screw if it had been the other way around.

    I’d forgotten about sultanas. They are a menace if you have a ‘curious’ child. Mum reminded me that my middle brother used to put cotoneasta berries up his nose. (I bet he doesn’t remember that.)

     
  3. Connie Pfeifer

    November 26, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    I have 3 children. Luckily, none of them put anything up their nose. I remember getting a bead stuck up my nose though. I was so embarrassed & ashamed. I knew that my dad would be furious. Thank goodness it came out when I blew my nose.

     

Leave a Reply

 
