RSS

Dressing to hide/amend/alter your shape – why women have got it wrong and why magazines are not our friends

27 Jun

Ah, I love the article by Nicole Elphick today. Go on, read it.

How many people have worn clothes they really don’t like because there are some nebulous ‘rules’ floating in the air, liberated from magazines by well-meaning mums, dress shop assistants, and of course Trinny and Susannah?

For the record, I love horizontal stripes. Being a pudgy, curvy woman I apparently shouldn’t ever wear them. I’ll look FAT! (OMG, like it hadn’t been obvious before!) I have a 3/4 sleeve stripy black and white top I’m going to wear tomorrow. And I’ll enjoy it.

And I won’t wear high heels to counter-balance the flared jeans that apparently make my fatness disappear (due to the placement of said fat). I have a number of spinal problems. High heels are a stupid idea. Why don’t I wear jeans that I like (straight ones) and maybe a pair of Birkenstocks?

I know what I like to wear. I have my own style. Sometimes it’s downright odd. I will wear a felt hat with a huge bow while wearing a polar fleece top and jeans – it’s cold in Canberra and I can’t come at wearing a beanie all the time. Besides, it makes the hipsters at the local coffee shop look slightly appalled and it’s worth it for that.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 27, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Dressing to hide/amend/alter your shape – why women have got it wrong and why magazines are not our friends

  1. astimegoesbuy

    June 27, 2012 at 10:12 am

    The thing about style is that it is individual.
    Cheers,
    Laura

     

Leave a Reply

 
