RSS

Controversial Children’s Clothes

20 Jul

This has been a bugbear of mine since having my darling daughter 6 years ago. I’m conflicted: I want to be cool and appear to not be fussed about silly things, but the old-school feminist, pro-people-having-respect part of me gets annoyed and cross about them.

Gallery of children’s clothes here.

I mean, The Babymop is just funny. Surely no mom would think it was a real item.

But this one?


I just find this offensive. It’s age-inappropriate, not to mention that it smacks of misogynism.

The baby bikini body is just humorous to me: .

I don’t see it as making a child look older than she/he is. It’s obvious that it’s a onesie and it’s surely obvious that the little kid wearing it is years away from being curvy and filling out a bikini.

I’m not cool with onesies that have swear words on them or intimate that the child is looking for a MILF. That’s just yuck.

The more I think about this, the more my head hurts. I’m going to have a cup of coffee and read the newspaper. That’s less controversial.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 20, 2012 in children

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Controversial Children’s Clothes

  1. little gumnut

    July 20, 2012 at 12:46 pm

    Oooh yeah. plain weird and nasty. the baby mop… hilarious april fool photo it cant be a real product can it?

     
  2. Fat Dormouse

    August 19, 2012 at 4:59 pm

    Most of those did make me go “Yuck” – even the bikini one. But I’d like the baby mop babygro (if they made a size big enough for Mr F-D!!) What I do wonder is “who the hell buys these…?!”

     

Leave a Reply

 
