RSS

Christmas carols are overdone

06 Dec

Grumpy cat deck the halls

I find that I avoid shopping malls this time of year because the endless looping of Christmas carols drives me nuts. I like singing some Christmas carols, but only up to and including 25th December. Yes, I should be cheerfully singing Epiphany carols at church but by then I’ve had a surfeit. Even now, I’ve given up going to most Advent carol services. (Shock! Horror!)

Partly that’s because DD wriggles; partly because my back hurts sitting on hard chairs or pews; partly because I’m sick of hearing carols.

Bah humbug!

OTOH, I am happily wrapping up presents that I bought online, or at shopping malls or local shops during the year. I’ve learnt the only way to keep my sanity is for me to keep out of shops in December. 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Christmas carols are overdone

  1. Jan

    December 6, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    I can’t do much early about my contribution to food with family at Christmas, but I lie to have everything bought before Advent. Not necessarily wrapped, but bought. I stay calmer if I stay away from the shops in December. My decorations usually go up after last Sunday in Advent and come down at Epiphany. Family tradition if nothing else. As I now live by myself, I do little with decorations anyway. A lovely, richly coloured Art Deco style nativity and some candles.

    I did give in and made a wreath for my front door the other day. Several apartments have them, so I joined them. One has been up almost three months now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
