RSS

Aaaaaand I’m back!

02 May

Yeah, it’s taken me 6 weeks to get off my tuchus and write another post.

Bronchitis kicked my butt. Then I was trying to get back and neck pain under control. Latest sweet thing: insomnia. I look like somebody put my eyes in with sooty fingers. All of me looks like a pink dumpling stuffed into unfashionable clothes (but with nice accessories, of course).

I feel I’ve done well to keep up looking neat and tidy, keep Miss Seven Year Old (aka the Princess) on time for school, fed and watered, and to look after the cat. Keeping papers in the house under control has been rather more difficult.

Thank goodness the cleaners come today. My back and arms get a break! Yay! And the cleaners change the bed linen also which is a great relief – one more time that I don’t have to stretch to stuff a doona into a clean doona cover, or fight sheets that won’t go on the mattress.

So what’s living with pain like? It’s different for each person. We might share some similarities, but how we respond and deal with pain and life at the same time will be according to each person’s resources.

If we’re short on resources (e.g. a partner who will share cooking and cleaning and tidying, access to medicine that works efficiently, etc.) then the level is Barely Coping some days. Other days it’s Damn I’m Marvellous Despite Feeling Like My Butt has been Kicked by a Mean Donkey.

I’m a bit over the “spoons” theory. It has been co-opted by people who have NO bloody idea of what it is like to live with chronic pain, nor the exhaustion and depression that can accompany it.

OK, grumble over. I’ve managed to get to work (yay!) for a section meeting (erk) and then will have singing later on today (yay!) tho I have been so busted up with insomnia that I don’t have all my sheet music ready (erk). Story of my life, darlings!

Speaking of which, when I’m tired and in pain, my speech becomes a mild version of word salad at worst. At best, I can’t manage people’s names and everyone gets called “darling”. To my embarrassment, I called my neurosurgeon darling last week. He didn’t seem displeased (thank goodness) but I’ll try harder to get his name right.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Aaaaaand I’m back!

  1. Little Gumnut

    May 2, 2013 at 1:50 pm

    Had to laugh at you calling the neurosurgeon darling! Hope he was young and handsome! At least you didn’t tell a random stranger ‘love you’ as I have done at the end of a conversation… and I have no excuse bar being odd.

     
    • Meowmie

      May 2, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      Ha ha! 🙂 I haven’t said that – yet! I’ve also called various high-level academics “darling”! They don’t seem to have worried and none have complained. Maybe being a bit theatrical means I can get away with it somehow. It seems to suit my personality LOL.

       

Leave a Reply

 
